Wednesday, November 14, 2012

CD Review: Kylie Minogue's The Abbey Road Sessions

One of the first pop songs I can remember singing along to is Kylie Minogue's "Locomotion".  The hit is still instantly recognizable to me.  I redisovered Kylie with her 2002 hit album Fever.  She's always been one with a knack for creating memorable hits and eye catching videos that you literally can't get out of your head, and became a fan anew.  (Sorry just couldn't resist that song reference but seriously, can anyone forget that white outfit?  But in off chance you have, refresh yourself.)
Both songs I most associate with Kylie each have their own unique style, so it was with great interest that I heard of her newest release, The Abbey Road Sessions.  Recorded at the legendary studios in London, this collection really showcases Kylie's range as an artist.  It strips her vocals down to the purest form, and are back with the support of a full orchestra.  The songs themselves have been rearranged and emerge as something very different and special from what we've seen Kylie do previously.  Hearing the songs, which span Kylie's 25 year career and include many of her best known hits, in a completely new way give fans a completely new experience with this iconic artist.  Some tracks take on musical stylings and all let her voice really shine. 
The Abbey Road Sessions Track Listing:

1. All The Lovers
2. On A Night Like This
3. Better The Devil You Know
4. Hand On Your Heart
5. I Believe In You
6. Come Into My World
7. Finer Feelings
8. Confide In Me
9. Slow
10. The Locomotion
11. Can’t Get You Out Of My Head
12. Where The Wild Roses Grow
13. Flower
14. I Should Be So Lucky
15. Love At First Sight
16. Never Too Late

Listen to a sampling of Kyle's new album below and see her perform "The Locomotion" on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno TONIGHT, November 14.

Kylie's Minogue's The Abbey Road Sessions is available at your local stores and:

Disclosure: I participated in this campaign for One2One Network. I received a free copy of the CD to facilitate my review. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. All opinions stated are my own.

0 Friends Said:

Blog Widget by LinkWithin

  © Blog Design by Simply Fabulous Blogger Templates

Back to TOP